Southern Section

Welcome to ASPB’s Southern Sectional Society. States Included: Alabama, Arkansas, Florida, Georgia, Kentucky, Louisiana, Mississippi, North Carolina, Oklahoma, South Carolina, Tennessee, Texas, Virginia, and West Virginia.

VISIT THE SOUTHERN SECTION WEB SITE for the latest information.

View the Southern Section September 2016 Newsletter

Section Leadership

Section Officers

Ken Korth, Chair, kkorth@uark.edu

Nihal Dharmasiri, Vice-Chair, md34@txstate.edu

Shahid Mukhtar, Secretary/Treasurer, smukhtar@uab.edu

Rebecca Dickstein, Representative to the ASPB Council, beccad@unt.edu

Tim Sherman, Communications Officer, tsherman@southalabama.edu

Joyce Foster, Section Historian, jgfoster@suddenlink.net

Marc Cohn, mcohn@lsu.edu, and Kent Chapman, chapman@unt.edu, Financial Oversight Committee

Executive Committee

Jay Shockey, jay.shockey@ars.usda.gov

Ashlee McCaskill, amccaskill@northgeorgia.edu

Rick Turley, deltadietitianmom@hotmail.com

Section Meetings

Southern Section 2017 Meeting – SAVE THE DATE

Join us at the Doubletree Hotel Orlando Downtown for the 2017 annual meeting. Come early or stay late to visit any of the other local attractions.  A block of affordable rooms has been secured, so take advantage and register early!

Registration details:

http://www.ss-aspb.org/page30/page20/index.php

http://www.ss-aspb.org/page30/page-6/index.php

Hotel information:

http://www.ss-aspb.org/page30/page5/index.html

April 8th     Field trip to Blue Springs State Park and Opening Night Mixer

April 9th     Oral and Poster Presentations, Banquet and  Student Awards

April 10th:   Kriton Hatzios Symposium  “Epigenetics in plant development and beyond”

For more information visit www.ss-aspb.org or contact Dr. Shahid Mukhtar, Secretary/Treasurer, SS-ASPB, smukhtar@uab.edu, or Dr. Paul Stephenson, Local Site Coordinator, pstephenson@rollins.edu  Hope to see you in Florida!

Download Save the Date Flyer