Southern Section

Welcome to ASPB’s Southern Sectional Society. States Included: Alabama, Arkansas, Florida, Georgia, Kentucky, Louisiana, Mississippi, North Carolina, Oklahoma, South Carolina, Tennessee, Texas, Virginia, and West Virginia.

VISIT THE SOUTHERN SECTION WEB SITE for the latest information.

View the Southern Section August 2018 Newsletter

2018 Meeting Flyer

Section Leadership

Section Officers

Nihal Dharmasiri, Chair, md34@txstate.edu

Shahid Mukhtar, Chair, smukhtar@uab.edu

Aruna Kilaru, Secretary/Treasurer, KILARU@mail.etsu.edu

Ashlee McCaskill, Representative to the ASPB Council, Ashlee.McCaskill@ung.edu

Tim Sherman, Communications Officer, tsherman@southalabama.edu

Joyce Foster, Section Historian, jgfoster@suddenlink.net

Marc Cohn, mcohn@lsu.edu, and Kent Chapman, chapman@unt.edu, Financial Oversight Committee

Executive Committee

Ashlee McCaskill, amccaskill@northgeorgia.edu

Rick Turley, deltadietitianmom@hotmail.com

Ken Korth, kkorth@uark.edu

Section Meetings

Southern Section 2018 Meeting – SAVE THE DATE – March 24-26th at Le Pavillon in New Orleans

Meeting Flyer

Registration and abstract submission are now open until March 1, 2018.
The theme for the 2018 symposium is “Big Data: Next Frontier in Plant Science,” and four keynote speakers will present on this topic; see the flyer for details.
This is a great meeting for students and faculty alike – and for many undergrads and grad students, it’s a comfortable and friendly environment to present their work to a larger audience. We typically have about 120-140 attendees, and there will again be an undergraduate poster competition and graduate student oral competition. Research topics in all areas of plant biology are welcome.
The costs for students are always very low compared to most meetings, and a block of hotel rooms has been reserved at a lower rate for SS-ASPB meeting attendees, making this a very affordable meeting.
We hope you will consider attending and/or sending some students. Please share this email with any colleagues at your institution or in the region who might have an interest. Please also print off the flyer and post to bulletin boards you have access to.
Visit http://www.ss-aspb.org/ for additional information. Feel free to contact the meeting organizers: Aruna Kilaru (kilaru@etsu.edu) and Jay Shockey (Jay.Shockey@ars.usda.gov) with questions.