Excellence in Education Award

This award was initiated in 1988 to recognize outstanding teaching, mentoring, and/or educational outreach in plant biology. It is a monetary award to be made annually in recognition of excellence in teaching, leadership in curricular development, or authorship of effective teaching materials in the science of plant biology.

2020 Winner: Tammy Long

Tammy Long, the Excellence in Education Award winner for 2020, has a comprehensive history of excellence in teaching and mentoring, as well as an extensive record of outreach as a pioneer in modeling instructional practice and as a leader in biology education research. She has earned multiple teaching awards, including the Science Prize for Inquiry-Based Instruction. Through the Summer Institutes on Scientific Teaching, she has mentored faculty in effective teaching methods, and she has also presented seminars on evidence-based teaching methods and curriculum improvements at several institutions. Tammy has been a PI or co-PI on numerous teaching and education training grants that support a large number of students and postdocs. Several of her presentations and publications, which are well cited in biology education, include undergraduate authors.

Yan Lu, Chair (2018-2023)
Tammy Long, Past Winner (2020-2021)
Karen Hicks (2019-2022)
Marta Laskowski (2020-2023)
Sylvia Lee, Staff Liaison