Support ASPB

ASPB has always depended, in part, on charitable donations to help the Society develop and support innovative programs and activities in the areas of education and outreach, publishing, community growth and engagement, and professional development for plant scientists throughout their careers.

In 2024, ASPB will celebrate its 100th anniversary. To ensure that the Society will continue to thrive during its second century, we aspire to raise at least $3 million in donations by the time of the Plant Biology 2024 conference in Honolulu, HI. The primary purpose of this Centennial Challenge is to significantly enhance support for ASPB professional development programs and other good works of the society, as directed by the Board of Directors.

Donation Categories

In accordance with the Society’s gift acceptance policy, ASPB welcomes donations in distinct categories; in particular, to unrestricted funds, temporarily restricted funds, permanently restricted funds, and via estate giving. Unrestricted donations to ASPB (e.g., the ASPB General Fund) will be used where the need is greatest. These funds, which include Board-designated funds, are free of donor stipulations. The Board can designate and un-designate funds for a specific purpose; nevertheless, the anticipated emphasis is to support professional development, including such things as travel grants, fellowships, and internships; as well as to cover costs associated with fundraising. Temporarily restricted funds (i.e., the Education Initiative) are subject to donor-imposed stipulations that can be satisfied with the passage of time or when the fund is spent for the purpose intended by the donor. They will be used to provide immediate support for the designated activities. Permanently restricted funds (e.g., each of the awards funds) are subject to donor-imposed stipulations, which mandate that funds be held in perpetuity. In accordance with Article IX of the ASPB constitution, earnings generated from investing in these donations will be used exclusively for the activities specified by the donor via their donation into a given board-approved fund. In accordance with the gift acceptance policy, for all restricted donations, ASPB will apply 85% of your donation to the designated cause and withhold 15% as a service charge for the ongoing administration of your gift.

Become a Member of the Legacy Society

ASPB launched the Legacy Society in 2016, with each Founding Member contributing $5,000 to ASPB. Going forward, whether your gifts are restricted or unrestricted, any donor to ASPB who reaches a lifetime total of $5,000 will automatically become a member of the Legacy Society. A great way to support the Centennial Challenge is to bring your lifetime donations up to this level.

ASPB Funds into Which You Can Contribute to Support the Centennial Challenge

Unrestricted Donations

  • Donation in support of a Pioneer of ASPB – Pioneer Members of ASPB have provided the education and research training for many members of our community and in some cases the leadership of the Society and its journals. Their recognition as Pioneers comes from former graduate students, postdocs, colleagues, family members, and friends who collectively contribute $5,000 or more to honor them. Names of the contributors are listed beneath each Pioneer’s name, as well as links to available biographical information about the Pioneer and their contributions to plant biology. To add your gift in honor of an existing Pioneer of ASPB, please fill out this donor commitment form.

Temporarily Restricted Donations

Permanently Restricted Donations

  • Excellence in Diversity and Inclusion Award – This recognition, which ASPB will begin offering after the fund that supports it realizes sufficient returns, will honor an ASPB member with a strong record of increasing diversity and inclusiveness in plant biology. Each awardee will be invited to give a plenary lecture and the following annual meeting.
  • Robert Rabson Award – The Robert Rabson Award, first given by the Society in 2012, recognizes Bob Rabson’s steadfast advocacy of plant biology through funding programs in the Department of Energy for research in basic energy sciences. The award recognizes postdoctoral scholars and faculty-level early-career scientists in academic, government, and corporate research institutions who have made excellent contributions in the area of bioenergy research. The award is currently offered in even-numbered years; increasing the size of the fund that supports it would allow ASPB to offer the award annually.
  • Joe Varner Travel Award – Approved for fundraising by the ASPB Board of Directors in 2017, this fund seeks to establish an endowment, named for Joe Varner, for the specific purpose of providing funds for early-career scientists to attend the ASPB Plant Biology meetings. The intent is to supplement the travel awards that ASPB already offers to early-career scientists.
  • ASPB-Carnegie Winslow Briggs Mentorship Award – The fund establishing a biennial award to honor Winslow Briggs and his outstanding contributions, leadership, and mentorship in plant biology was established in 2020, and the first award will be made once earnings on the initial endowment have reached a sufficient level. Further increasing the size of the existing fund would allow ASPB to offer this award annually in the future.
  • Eric E. Conn Young Investigator Award – The Eric E. Conn Young Investigator Award, first given by the Society in 2011, honors Eric E. Conn’s contributions in plant biology by recognizing young scientists who will be inspired to follow in his footsteps. The award recognizes not only outstanding research but also demonstrated excellence in outreach, public service, mentoring, or teaching by plant scientists at the beginning of their careers. The award is currently offered in odd-numbered years; increasing the size of the fund that supports it would allow ASPB to offer the award annually.
  • Lawrence Bogorad Award for Excellence in Plant Biology Research –The Bogorad Award was approved by the Society’s executive committee in 2005 to honor Dr. Bogorad’s many contributions to plant biology, including his influential efforts to bring the techniques of molecular biology to bear on problems in plant biology and his inspired teaching and mentoring. The award recognizes a plant scientist whose work both illuminates the present and suggests paths to enlighten the future. The award is currently offered in even-numbered years; increasing the size of the fund that supports it would allow ASPB to offer the award annually.
  • ASPB Innovation Prize for Agricultural Technology –The innovation prize was inaugurated in 2015 to recognize the outstanding work of industry scientists in companies of all sizes who translate discovery research into real-world outcomes that benefit agriculture. The award additionally acts as a vehicle to increase the awareness of the highest quality science performed by industry scientists, and it showcases the opportunities and rewards of this career path. The award is currently offered in odd-numbered years; increasing the size of the fund that supports it would allow ASPB to offer the award annually.

Don’t forget, your donation may be tax-deductible. Please consult your tax professional for more information. ASPB’s tax id is 53-0258999