ASPB Sections

There are currently nine sections of ASPB.  Six are formed from geographical regions of the USA and parts of Canada and Mexico. There are also three interest based sections.   Each section maintains a member base and holds annual meetings or other events. Contact Shoshana Kronfeld with any questions.

Early Career Plant Scientists

Welcome to ASPB’s Early Career Plant Scientists (ECPS) section, a theme-based section within the American Society of Plant Biologists.

Environmental & Ecological Plant Physiology

Welcome to ASPB’s Environmental and Ecological Plant Physiology (EEPP) section, a theme-based section within the American Society of Plant Biologists.


Welcome to ASPB’s Mexican Sectional Society. It represent the interest and needs of plant biologists in Mexico.   Mexico represents an increasing amount of plant science discovery.

Mid-Atlantic US

Welcome to ASPB’s Mid-Atlantic Sectional Society. US states included: The District of Columbia, Maryland, Virginia, West Virginia, Delaware, New Jersey and Pennsylvania

Midwestern US and Canada

Welcome to ASPB’s Midwestern Sectional Society.  US states included: Iowa, Illinois, Indiana, Kansas, Michigan, Missouri, North Dakota, Nebraska, Ohio, South Dakota, West Virginia, and Wisconsin.  Canadian providences included: Manitoba and Ontario.

Northeast US

Welcome to ASPB’s Northeastern Sectional Society.  US states included: Connecticut, Delaware, Massachusetts, Maine, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New York, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, Vermont.

Primarily Undergraduate Institution

Welcome to ASPB’s Primarily Undergraduate Institution (PUI) section, a theme-based section within the American Society of Plant Biologists.

Southern US

Welcome to ASPB’s Southern Sectional Society.  US states included: Alabama, Arkansas, Florida, Georgia, Kentucky, Louisiana, Mississippi, North Carolina, Oklahoma, South Carolina, Tennessee, Texas, Virginia and West Virginia.

Western US and Canada

Welcome to ASPB’s Western Sectional Society.  US states included:  Alaska, Arizona, California, Colorado, Hawaii, Idaho, Montana, New Mexico, Nevada, Oregon, Utah, Washington, Wyoming; Canadian providences included: Alberta, British Columbia and Saskatchewan.