Adolph E. Gude, Jr. Award

This monetary award honors the Gude Family, who made possible the establishment of the Gude Plant Science Center. The award, established by the Society and first given in 1983, is made triennially to a scientist or lay person in recognition of outstanding service to the science of plant biology. Membership in the Society is not a requirement for the award.

2022 Winner: Beronda Montgomery

Beronda Montgomery, who was recently appointed Vice President for Academic Affairs and Dean of the College at Grinnell College, is the 2022 recipient of the Adolph E. Gude, Jr. Award in recognition of her visionary and virtuosic scholarship, equity-engaged mentorship, and communication to a broad audience. Beronda’s use of plant biology metaphors in equity and engagement issues has fostered growth of the next generation of scientists by helping to create optimal environments and guide decision-making by multiple generations of individuals in our community. Her book, Lessons from Plants, and many articles, essays, and videos on planting equity and cultivating inclusivity and leadership have contributed to the intellectual and academic advancement of individuals and groups in education and research. An outstanding plant biologist, Beronda is a premier role model and mentor, lighting the path towards equity and inclusion in plant biology and beyond.


Julia Bailey-Serres, Chair (2015-2022)
Maarten Chrispeels, Past Winner (2021-2022)
Wendy Boss (2015-2022)
Joseph Hirschberg (2018-2025)
Sharlene Weatherwax (2018-2025)
Sylvia Lee, Staff Liaison