Early Career Award

The Early Career Award was instituted by the Society in 2005 to recognize outstanding research by scientists at the beginnings of their careers. This award is a monetary award made annually for exceptionally creative, independent contributions by an individual, whether or not a member of the Society, who is generally not more than seven years post-Ph.D. on January 1st of the year of the presentation. Breaks in careers will be considered when addressing the time limit of this award.

2020 Winner

The Early Career Award acknowledges outstanding research by a scientist generally not more than seven years post-Ph.D. This year’s Early Career Award recipient is Christine Scoffoni.

2020 Winner: Christine Scoffoni

Christine Scoffoni, from the Department of Biological Sciences at California State University, Los Angeles, is recognized as this year’s recipient of the Early Career Award. Christine obtained her bachelor’s degree in Marseille and her master’s degree in Bordeaux, France, before earning her PhD and performing postdoctoral research at University of California, Los Angeles, in the laboratory of Lawren Sack. She was a Humboldt postdoctoral fellow at Ulm University in Germany. Christine’s research focuses on leaf hydraulics, for which she has developed new techniques that have become global standards in the field. She has pushed her plant physiology research into diverse fields, such as biogeography and x-ray microtomography phenotyping, to answer key questions in drought tolerance. Christine has an exceptional record in teaching and outreach, exemplified by her NSF CAREER award.

Hiroshi Maeda, Chair (2017-2023)
Christine Scoffoni, Past Winner (2020-2021)
Charlie Anderson (2020-2023)
Paula McSteen (2020-2023)
Sylvia Lee, Staff Liaison