ASPB-Carnegie Winslow Briggs Mentorship Award

The ASPB-Carnegie Winslow Briggs Mentorship award, offered for the first time in 2024, honors Winslow Briggs and his outstanding contributions, leadership, and mentorship in plant biology, as well as his extraordinary career-long attendance at ASPB annual meetings. This biennial monetary award recognizes an individual with at least five years of continuous membership at the time the award is made for their demonstrated commitment to mentoring and supporting next-generation scientists, for making a significant positive impact on their former mentees’ careers, and for advancing research in the field of plant science through their former mentees. The recipient is invited to chair a concurrent symposium at the Plant Biology conference in the year following their award.

Please note: when submitting a nomination for the ASPB-Carnegie Winslow Briggs Mentorship Award, the nomination should include at least one letter co-signed by a group of former mentees or three letters from individual former mentees.

Zhiyong Wang, chair (2023-2024)
Michael Blatt (2023-2028)
Arthur Grossman (2023-2028)
Marta Laskowski (2023-2028)
Elaine Tobin (2023-2028)