Eric E. Conn Young Investigator Award

The Eric E. Conn Young Investigator Award, first given by the Society in 2011, honors Eric E. Conn’s contributions in plant biology by recognizing young scientists who will be inspired to follow in his footsteps. The award recognizes not only outstanding research but also demonstrated excellence in outreach, public service, mentoring, or teaching by plant scientists at the beginning of their careers. This award is a monetary award made biennially for demonstrated commitment by a member of the Society who is generally not more than five years post-Ph.D. on January 1st of the year of the presentation. It also provides a one year membership to the Society. Breaks in careers will be considered when addressing the time limit of this award.

2019 Winner: Craig Schenck

Craig Schenck (Michigan State University) is recognized for his important contributions to the field of plant specialized metabolism and his commitment to student mentoring, public outreach and service to the profession. Craig’s research has generated an impressive body of publications and patents focused on the discovery, characterization, and evolution of novel pathways of specialized metabolism in multiple plant species. In addition to his dedication to teaching, mentoring and service at his home institution, Craig has contributed to the mission of the Society by serving as an ASPB Ambassador. He has received numerous honors for his research and service, including an NSF Postdoctoral Research Fellowship in Biology.

Danny Schnell, Chair (2016-2021)
Craig Schenck, past winner (2020-2021)
Caren Chang (2016-2021)
Laurie Smith (2016-2021)
Sylvia Lee, Staff Liaison