Robert Rabson Award

The Robert Rabson Award, first given by the Society in 2012, recognizes Bob Rabson’s steadfast advocacy of plant biology through creation of funding programs in the Department of Energy for research in basic energy sciences. The award recognizes postdoctoral scholars and faculty-level early career scientists, whether or not members of the Society, in academic, government and corporate research institutions who have made excellent contributions in the area of bioenergy research. The award is made biennially to a researcher who is no more than five years post-PhD on January 1st of the year of presentation, with consideration of breaks in career relative to this time-frame. The award recipient is given a monetary award and a one-year membership in the Society.

Xiaobo Li

2016 Winner: Xiaobo Li

For his novel discoveries linking the genetic and biochemical control of triacylglycerol biosynthesis and turnover with cellular metabolism and nutrient responses of microalgae, Xiaobo Li (Carnegie Institution for Science, Stanford, California) is the winner of the Robert Rabson Award in 2016. The novel insights arising from Xiaobo’s research support the development of renewable and sustainable biodiesel transportation fuel from microalgal feedstocks.



Candace Haigler, Chair (2011-2018)
Xiaobo Li Past Winner (2017-2018)
Diane Okamuro (2017-2022)
Ken Keegstra (2017-2022)
Sylvia Lee, Staff Liaison

Nomination & Deadlines

The Robert Rabson Award will be offered again in 2018. Please check the nominations page in January 2018 to make a nomination.

Past Winners

2014 – Dominique Loque

2012 – Yuki Tobimatsu