Dennis R. Hoagland Award

This monetary award, established by the Society in 1985 with funds provided by the Monsanto Agricultural Products Company, honors Dr. Dennis R. Hoagland, recipient of the first Hales award, for his outstanding contributions and leadership in plant mineral nutrition. The award, to be made not more frequently than triennially, is for outstanding plant research in support of agriculture.

Maria Harrison

2015 Winner: Maria Harrison

Maria Harrison has pioneered studies of phosphate acquisition in arbuscular mycorrhizal (AM) symbioses using the model legume Medicago truncatula. In particular, her findings that phosphate transport is linked to maintenance of symbiosis and that plants use classic hormone signaling pathways for regulation of the AM symbiosis have ushered the field of fungal–plant interactions in new directions, and they provide opportunities for the future manipulation of phosphate acquisition in crop species. Maria has identified key gene products required for phosphate transport and uptake, and she has shown that redirected plant protein secretion mechanisms target transporters to symbiotic membranes. Maria has also has developed cell biology resources for in vivo cellular imaging in Medicago that expand research capabilities to further unravel the nutritional function of the AM symbiosis. The Hoagland award is given in recognition of her outstanding contributions to plant mineral nutrition.


Mary Lou Guerinot, Chair & Past Winner (2014-2021)
Katayoon (Katie) Dehesh (2017-2021)
Eduardo Blumwald (2017-2024)
Gloria K. Muday (2017-2024)
Sylvia Lee, Staff Liaison

Nominations & Deadlines

The Dennis Robert Hoagland Award will be offered again in 2018. Please check the nominations page in January 2018 to make a nomination.

Past Winners

2015 – Maria Harrison
2012 – Mary lou Guerinot
2009 – Jorge Dubcovsky
2006 – Dennis Gonsalves
2003 – Peggy Lemaux
2000 – Roger Beachy
1997 – Brian Larkins
1994 – Charles Arntzen
1991 – *John Radin
1988 – Martin Bukovac
1985 – Richard Hageman