Excellence in Education Award

This award was initiated in 1988 to recognize outstanding teaching, mentoring, and/or educational outreach in plant biology. It is a monetary award to be made annually in recognition of excellence in teaching, leadership in curricular development, or authorship of effective teaching materials in the science of plant biology.

2023 Winner: Bonnie Bartel

Dr. Bartel has an outstanding record of teaching, mentoring, and outreach. She has taught a wide variety of courses and mentored eight postdocs, 30 graduate students, and 122 undergraduate students. Her mentees have presented at professional conferences, co-authored journal articles, received departmental awards, and established their own laboratories. Bonnie has served as the Graduate Program Director and the Graduate Curriculum Committee Chair at Rice University. Her outreach efforts have extended appreciably into the community. For example, Bonnie has organized many conferences in the field of Plant Biology. Most impressively, she has been actively seeking federal grants to improve graduate and undergraduate education. In 1998, Bonnie began helping to implement an NSF Alliances for Graduate Education and the Professoriate (AGEP) program at Rice University. In 2006, she received an HHMI Professor grant to introduce first-year students at Rice and Texas Medical Center to research.

Michael Grillo, Chair (2023-2025)
Bonnie Bartel, Past Winner (2023-2024)
Martha Ibore (2023-2026)
Li Tian (2023-2026)
Sylvia Lee, Staff Liaison