ASPB Summer Undergraduate Research Fellowship (SURF) Award

The American Society of Plant Biologists (ASPB) Summer Undergraduate Research Fellowships (SURF) fund promising undergraduate students so they can conduct research in plant biology during the early part of their college careers. SURF recipients must present their research at ASPB’s annual Plant Biology meeting in the year following the fellowship award.

2019 Winners

Tayah Bolt

University of California Davis

Ava Heller

Ohio University

Jeremiah Lukes

University of Vermont


Viviana Martinez-Martinez

Universidad Politecnica de Pachuca

Suprene Mohamedzein

Wake Forest University

Bo Price

Utah State University

Benjamin Styler

Brown University


Samantha Surber

University of Nebraska- Lincoln

Ashley Turner

University of Florida

Paige Wiebe

Kansas State University

Kwan Yoon

University of Massachusetts Amherst

Kristen Edgeworth

Kenyon College

Malay Nanavaty

The College of New Jersey

Claire Ravenburg

James Madison University



Adán Colón-Carmona, Chair (2017-2021)
Jon Monroe (2017-2021)
Erich Grotewold (2018-2022)
Amy Marshall-Colon (2018-2022)
Chris Wolverton (2018-2022)

Nominations & Deadlines

The ASPB SURF award is open for applications on an annual basis with winners announced in the spring. Please check the Application Page for deadlines

Past Winners


Anastasiya Andriyash, University of New Mexico

Daniel Berkovich, Washington University in St. Louis

David Berrios, University of California, Davis

Bridget Bickner, University of Nebraska-Lincoln

Roshani Budhathoki, Eastern Connecticut State University

Edward Cruz, University of Nevada, Reno

Marlo Hall, University of California San Diego

Laura Janousek, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

Grace Johnston, Colorado State University

Rachael Prawitz, Missouri Western State University

Cassandra Proctor, Cornell University

Antonio Serrano, Northern New Mexico College

Jenny Swinton, Oklahoma State University

Xuening Zhang, University of California, Berkeley


Samantha Connolly, University of Vermont

Cameron Criswell, Texas A&M University

Max Hagelthorn, UC Davis

Christopher Imler, University of Florida

Victoria Morris, University of California, Riverside

McKenzie Pickle, University of California, Riverside

Angus Rae, University of Newcastle, Australia

Alex Riley, University of Illinois at Urbana Champaign

Elizabeth Winnicki, University of Hawaii at Manoa

Robert Yvon, University of Massachusetts

Patricia Goytortua, Instituto Politécnico Nacional

Kenneth Kim, University of West Georgia

Tayler Lewis, Radford University

Lauren Pope, James Madison University

Jennifer Walz, University of St. Thomas

Meghan Bacher, University of Puget Sound

Julia Brose, University of Missouri-Columbia

Snigdha Chatterjee, Syracuse University

Alexander Clarke, University of Missouri – Columbia

Nicole Folstad, University of Minnesota

Erin Hartzell, West Virginia University

Johanna L’Heureux, University of Massachusetts

Geneva Lee, Mills College

Helen Liu, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

Iris Mollhoff, University of California at Davis

Jeremy Pardo, Cornell University

Amanda Shurzinske, University of Missouri-St.Louis

Anna Tsui, North Carolina State University

Cairo Archer, Cornell University