ASPB Leadership in Science Public Service Award

The ASPB Public Affairs Committee awards the ASPB Leadership in Science Public Service Award annually to recognize individuals who have advanced the mission of ASPB and its members through significant contributions to plant science and public policy leadership. Awardees generally have made contributions to the broader society that are relevant to the work of plant biologists; recipients need not be plant scientists themselves.

The ASPB Leadership in Science Public Service Award recipient is invited to address the Society during the annual meeting held in the year of their award.

Howard Buffett

Photo: Michael Owen Thomas for Illinois Public Media.

2016 Winner: Howard Buffett

Mr. Buffett is recognized for his leadership and efforts in support of agricultural research and innovation for small-holder farmers across the globe. Mr. Buffett is the chairman and CEO of the Howard G. Buffett Foundation, a private charitable organization working to catalyze change to improve the lives of the most impoverished and marginalized populations. In particular, Mr. Buffett and his foundation focus on global food security and conflict mitigation. As part of his efforts, Mr. Buffett oversees four foundation –operated research farms comprising 18,500 acres spread across the United States and South Africa. For his philanthropic contributions to agriculture, Mr. Buffett has received the National Farmers Union Meritorious Service to Humanity Award, the Leader in Agriculture Award from Agriculture Future of America, the Special Service Award from the Association for International Agriculture and Rural Development, the Gene White Lifetime Achievement Award from the Global Child Nutrition Foundation, the Norman E. Borlaug Award from CIMMYT, and numerous other honors. He will speak as part of the awards symposium at Plant Biology 2016 in Austin.


Science Policy Committee Members

Patrick S. Schnable, Chair (2008-2016)
Julian Schroeder, Immediate Past-President (2013-2016)
Dean DellaPena (2012-2016)
Daniel Peterson (2013-2017)
Nathan Springer (2013-2017)
Ruby O’lexy, Early Career Rep (2015-2017)
Harry Klee (2014-2018)
Jose Dinneny (2014-2018)
Jim Carrington (2015-2019)
Neal Stewart (2015-2019)
Tyrone Spady, Staff Liaison

Nominations & Deadlines

There is no formal nominations processs for this award.  If you would like to recommend someone for this award, please contact Tyrone Spady.

Past Winners

2015 – The Honorable Amy J. Klobuchar
2014 – Nathaniel Johnson
2013 – Bob Zeigler
2012 – Peter Raven 
2011 – Deborah Delmer 
2010 – Nina Fedoroff
2009 – William H. Danforth II
2008 – Luis Herrera-Estrella
2007 – James Collins
2006 – Mary Clutter
2005 – Richard Jefferson
2004 – Charles J. Arntzen
2003 – Dennis Gonslaves
2002 – Norman Borlaug
2001 – Ingo Potrykus
2000 – Gordon Conway
1999 – Rita Colwell
1998 – Christopher(Kit) Bond